Carnage!!

I don’t quite know where to even start or exactly how to feel.

Today was the first race of the 2017 ISMF World Championships.  It was tough!

Our warm-up was a 40 min walk up a road to the start.  It was raining when we arrived.  Right from the start gate we funnelled onto a tight road and then onto the skin track.  My focus was to stay calm- one girl lost a ski, another a skin, I ended up skinning over someone’s pole.  Right from the get-go it felt like warfare with the terrain.

wc ind alpago up.jpg

The first climb went well, but the downhills annihilated me.  I watched as 8 or 10 girls passed me.  In a nutshell-> zero visibility, rocks exposed, a long downhill bootpack….yuck!  There were several drop offs-so if you went a few meters the wrong way, you could fall of a mini cliff.  To top it off I the officials would simultaneously yell “Allez Allez Allez!” and “don’t go that way!” in Italian.

The down was harder than the up.  I ended up getting air, dropping over a few logs, crashing into a tree, and having my head hit every few seconds by the skis barely hanging onto my backpack on the downhill bootpack.

wc-ind-alpago-transition

But I survived! And I’m a better person for it.  It’s good to be challenged and to learn to dance in the rain.  Today was an opportunity to test myself and to see how I fare mentally.  Can’t wait to try the next one….at least once my legs aren’t so heavy 🙂

“You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but if you never venture out of it, you will never know that there is such a thing as an ocean, a sea.” — C. Joybell C.

(Photo credit- Jenny  Paterson)

Leave a Reply

