First of firsts

Celebrating 2 new first place winners
Celebrating 2 new first place winners

Last weekend I ran my first half marathon of 25km.  That was the first of many firsts…..

…I ran alongside the first place male for the first 14km

….I was tripped by a dog who ran in between my legs

….the aid station was not ready for me when I arrived, as I went faster than they anticipated

…. I came in first place female, 3rd overall-a mere few minutes behind 1st male

—- I received a trophy

It was an excellent race with many many first time experiences.  The snow continued to fall from start to finish of the race, making things interesting.  I felt really strong and enjoyed running up front with my new friend Andrew.   I am able to push myself harder when the competition is right close to me, thus being able to run at the front was super beneficial.

I also had a great cheer squad that happened to find every possible junction with the road to shout out words of encouragement.  Nearing the last 5km, my mom even ran beside me for a bit giving me a quick update on the 2 guys ahead and the girl a aways behind me.

A great big cheer to a great race and new experiences!

Waiting to start
Waiting to start
Michelle chasing Andrew
Michelle chasing Andrew
My cheer crew wrote me an inspirational message
My cheer crew wrote me an inspirational message

 

crossing the finish line
crossing the finish line

 

Leave a Reply

