Mt Allen- The ridge that keeps giving

Feeling the need to boost the miles in my running log, I set out on a run that’s been on the tick list for awhile.  The entire route actually only contained about 40km; the real challenge presented itself in the vertical meters gained.  Thus I had conclusively picked the wrong trip to meet my objectives.

Reaching the summit
Reaching the summit

The run itself was spectacular with the clouds rolling over the ridge crest and playing peek-a-boo with the mountain peaks.  The first leg consisted of a 1,419 m constant climb up to the summit.  The ascent took me longer than anticipated- totalling 2.5 hrs to reach the peak.  I was tired, but elated by the scenery.

The mysterious fog surrounding the ridge
The mysterious fog surrounding the ridge
Simply amazing rock structures along the ridge
Simply amazing rock structures along the ridge

Furthermore, playing on the same theme, the descent into Ribbon also took longer than I had guesstimated.  The ridge plummeted steeply into the valley causing difficulty on the knees and agility to run much faster than a snail’s pace.  Nonetheless the views were outstanding.

I heart fog
I heart fog

After milling about the construction zone in the bottom of the valley, trying to make sense of the missing trail systems, I finally found my turn around destination and headed back up the trail to surmount Mt Allen once again.

To say it was a struggle regaining the summit certainly starts to capture the process. The ridge was steep, which honestly set me into speed hiking mode more often than running mode.  The trail was open and exposed to the sun’s perils and the pesky horseflies that swarmed me with every step.  I felt every 1,319 m on the way back up.

Sadly, I was somewhat underprepared for this adventure and quickly ran out of water. Remaining in my backpack was one little fruit cup that I left to treasure on the summit. My turning tummy brought my thoughts to those luscious mandarin slices sitting within arms reach as I laboured back up the ridge.

Savouring the ever lusted fruit cup!
Savouring the ever lusted fruit cup!

Needless to say, I did make it eventually back to the summit and relished that juicy fruit cup.  The plod back down to my car was a slow one; each step felt exponentially slower than the previous one as I battled against the bonk.  Usually I have left over food & water at the end of every run, but on this day, I had miscalculated – and my body paid for it dearly.  Near the end, a crawling toddler would’ve probably gone faster than I; however, I simply kept moving in order to reach my final destination- the end.

clouds playing peek-a-boo with the peaks
clouds playing peek-a-boo with the peaks

Once back at the car (completely elated to be finished )  I was shocked at how quickly my body bounced back once water merely touched my lips.  I rapidly snapped back and was super chipper and miss chatty cathy.

Water- It is a necessity!  This run- a must do!

Leave a Reply

