Cox Hill

running jumpingpound ridge
running jumpingpound ridge

Yesterday I went out for a great little 25km run through the middle of nowhere.  Off onto a dirt road into Cowboy country I found the trailhead, laced up my shoes, and took off.

jumpingpound summit
jumpingpound summit

I love running outside with other people, but circumstances sometimes designate that I am on my own.  Running solo is an astounding experience that all should take hold of.  In the peace and quiet of mother nature my mind was still and I could simply listen and absorb all that was around me.  I watched the weather change from sunshine, to rain, then fog, then snow, then more fog, and sunshine once again.  Each weather condition created a different atmosphere and experience.

fog running
fog running

There was something so inherent about running on the ridge right through circling clouds that gathered around me.  The thunder continued to boom and tease me as I ran, moving my way through rocks, snow, over top hills, and across grassy knolls.  It clapped and I ran.  To put it plainly- that was so cool!

snow snow snow!
snow snow snow!
contemplation
contemplation
muddy mud mud!
muddy mud mud!

The day finished with lots of stretching and taking in the world around me.  What a beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

