Blind Spots

Surrounding ourselves with people outside our normal circle of partners is assuredly good for both the soul and our perspectives.  It is in the company of others I am most often challenged and forced to reflect or think upon my practices.  To my advantage, many of my colleagues also happen to be outdoor enthusiasts, hence sometimes coffee break conversations gravitate towards adventuring outdoors, story swapping, and lesson learning.

I am quite lucky to have my friend Bruce in my life, as we often get into deep conversations about bettering ourselves and our practices outside.  Recently he came upon the topic of blind spots, in how people sometimes miss imperative information to their safety.  One such example is a couple who thought their avalanche transceivers somehow warded off avalanches.  Or others who think skiing the back country solo, just off the resort is altogether safe due to its proximity to pro patrol.  Others are the heuristic traps,   as McCammon describes, such as allowing familiarity with a location to cloud our judgement.

It causes me to reflect- what is my blind spot?  Where am I compromising my safety or the safety of my partners simply because I fail to shoulder check?  Where am I unknowingly overlooking an important aspect? We are capable of reflection- thus we should from time to time take a look at ourselves.  It is beneficial to travel or chat with others to unveil these spots in order to continually refine our habits and methods.

What is your blindspot?

Skiing Surprise Pass
Skiing Surprise Pass
Leave a Reply

